A Non-Post about Posting

One of the hardest things about writing a blog (for me) is coming up with topics. The conversation with myself goes something like:

“What should today be about?”

“I dunno. There was that movie we went to yesterday.”

“True, I could write about that, but I kinda don’t feel like it. What about depression?”

“You’re stable on your meds. You have barely any insight to that right now.”

“True again. How about Christianity?”

“Now there’s a can of worms. Are you sure that’s a smart choice?”

“I’ll write it and then decide if I’m going to post it or not.”

“Great. So if you decide not to post it, what are you going to post?”

“Probably some stupid bullshit. Can I go dehydrate the tomatoes now?”

“You’re an idiot.”

img_5681

What I’m playing with to avoid writing

I did go see Rogue One and Doctor Strange yesterday (and didn’t have to pay for either, so that was fabulous). I’m going to let those stories percolate in the back of my mind before talking about them here. I will say that 1) Rogue One was inspiring from an “us vs. them” perspective and 2) I’m going to rewatch Doctor Strange a thousand times just because of the visuals. (And Mr. Cumberbatch’s American accent was on point.)

As for that post about Christianity, it’s sitting near 1000 words and it’s quite possibly one of the most difficult pieces I’ve written recently because it’s so personal. Spoiler alert, I broke from the Christian church about six years ago, which sucks in a way because there is a man–a good, Christian man–I would quite like to cross paths with again, but the whole “Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers; for what fellowship hath righteousness have with unrighteousness?” (2 Cor 6:14, KJV) is a long way of saying Christianity says he and I have no future. (My hopeless romantic side, on the other hand, disagrees, of course. My hopeless romantic side might be an idiot.)

So that appears to be what’s upcoming in the next few weeks. Thanks for reading this non-post and taking a glimpse inside my brain.

Now that you've read my thoughts, what are yours?

