Wrong Number Marketing

Interesting thing just happened: I got a call from an unknown number, so I let it go to voicemail. I listened to the voicemail a minute later, and it was a realty company calling for “Amy.” I would have believed the lady, except that she kept apologizing. (“I’m so sorry if this is the wrong number. It’s what was put in our system.” You don’t trust your system?)

I thought over the content of the call and decided to listen again. Here’s the full script:

“Hi, this message is for Amy. I’m hoping I have the right number. Anyways, I have your information in regards to looking at homes and condos in Chandler. And, I wanted to let you know that I have one that fits your description of exactly what you’re looking for and I have some loans that match as well. And if you need a zero down loan, we’ve got those available. You can reach me at [phone number] and if you need any help, you know where to reach me. This is [name] at [company]. Thank you! And if I have the wrong number, I am so sorry, it was just put into our system that way.”

I got suspicious right around “if you need a zero-down loan,” and when she apologized the second time for maybe having the wrong number, I decided there’s a 90% chance “Amy” doesn’t exist.

Clever way to get around those “Don’t Call Me” lists, right? “Wrong Number Marketing” just has a ring to it. (Or a vibrate, depending on your settings.)

Now that you've read my thoughts, what are yours?

