To Make The Right Choice

Just logged on to the university website to look over my choices for the last six classes of my undergraduate degree. My plan was to take a few technical writing courses and move on. Instead, I saw classes I actually want to take. Harder classes. Classes that require I learn a new computer system and apply math and physics. Classes  that require teamwork and focus. Classes that might be close to impossible to manage while having a job.

Now I’m torn. I can continue down this path and take classes that are boring just to finish the degree, or I can reignite my love for architecture and go out on classes that will actually mean something to me.

The choice seems pretty obvious, except that I love my job. I don’t want to give it up.

I don’t know what to do now, and I really don’t want to put off my degree another semester. I hate not being in school. It would be crazy to take full-time classes and work full time, right? I’ve never done it successfully. I’ve always had to quit one or the other.

But what if it was just one class or two classes? One of the project classes and an Architecture history class? Maybe? I miss the late nights in studio, the feel of a #11 X-Acto blade shaping foam board into pieces of something I designed. The purpose of getting this degree was to create the opportunity to earn my masters in Architecture. To become an architect. Falling into the airlines was a happy accident. I feel like I have these two incredible opportunities and I want to take them both.

I don’t know, I don’t know, I don’t know, I don’t know.

Now that you've read my thoughts, what are yours?

