Second Thoughts

Hey, guys.

I published a post all of 10 minutes ago that I pulled back for the time being. I’m extremely frustrated with certain politics at work, and while I believe I am right in everything I said, I also recognize that some of what I said could be considered “slander” rather than the bold-faced truth. Lawyers are picky like that.

Here’s the gist:

I love my job. I love that I work for the corporation that literally moved travel into the future. However, I am entirely frustrated by the fact that the airline that pioneered the basis for all travel-industry computer systems has taken to the weather-beaten mantra of “it is what it is.”

We are no longer pioneers. We’re followers. We follow industry trends rather than create them. Most frustrating to me is that people like me, who are weird and unusual and passionate about improving our company, are respected until we show too much of our creative selves.

Our customers deserve better than the beaten and battered spirits of employees who have taken up the white flag of “it is what it is.” It isn’t. There is always something we can do to improve our situations. Sometimes it requires standing up for what we believe in. Sometimes it involves waiting for the right moment to do so.

I want to say all of the things I said in my last post. Maybe I can revise it in a few days when I’m less frustrated. Maybe I’ll give the recording to someone in the company rather than posting it on a public platform.

I am a dreamer. I believe in a better world. I believe in treating others the way you want to be treated, and I believe in karma. I believe that the unique ones, the eccentric and absurd ones, are who will be brave enough to make a difference even if we have to experience setbacks along the way.

Most importantly, the cure for “it is what it is” is this: if you want to make a difference, you have to risk failing, or else you will never have the opportunity to succeed.

Now that you've read my thoughts, what are yours?

