Sweet Dreams

Day 19 (Saturday)

Today has been filled with lots of awesome. (“KaLeena, do you want a venti hazelnut latte from Starbucks?” “Why, yes, Alicia. Thank you for being spectacular.”) I had a blast at work (we had a wee issue with the computer system, which meant I got totally sucked into the “What do we do?” whirlwind, which is something I legitimately enjoy). I grabbed lunch with a dear friend (we talked about life, love, and the lack of), who coincidentally doesn’t like Kenny Chesney. Now, it’s on to watching the NASCAR race while waiting for the sleeping pill to take effect (going to sleep is the hardest thing in the world for me right now–or, going to sleep without dissolving into a mess of tears, snot, and bad, bad, bad thoughts).

My mind is going in a million directions–I want four blank walls, 12 feet high, that I can write on with dry erase markers. One wall, I can cover with thoughts about my work projects. Another wall, character concepts for my novels. The third wall . . . probably more character concepts about my novel. My fourth wall, random thoughts–good and bad–drawings, math, and whatever else comes to mind.

Today, I’m dreaming about moving out, into a 3-bedroom house, and turning one bedroom into an office, another into a library, and the third might have a cot and set of drawers. I imagine the fridge will be empty most of the time, perhaps containing butter, grapefruit juice, pre-packaged salads, and almond milk. I imagine that (without a roommate), my clothes will be strewn across the couch, the floor, the bathroom, possibly the dining table (this is reality, folks).

“Yo. Get that thing out of my face and let me nap, okay?”

Now that the ADD has taken over, I think it’s time to go to bed. I know Brody’s wondering why we’re all still awake.

Have a wonderful weekend, friends.

Now that you've read my thoughts, what are yours?

