Show Your Gratitude

One of the many things that has been drilled into my head this semester is the power of gratitude. Because these people can explain why showing your gratitude is an important part of maintaining a healthy mental balance, I’m going to leave this video right here for you to watch:

With all of the issues that cropped up in my life over the last week, remembering this idea of showing gratitude made a huge difference in my attitude . . . around 5 o’clock this morning. So, if you don’t mind, I would like to share a few short thoughts about the people I am grateful for today. Please feel free to share your own stories and anecdotes in the comments.

Mom: She is absolutely the most amazing person I’ve ever met. For the last 11 years, she’s raised my sister and me all by herself. For the 8 years before that, she not only raised my sister and me, but cared for my grandmother, who lived with us. She rebounded from bankruptcy, taught herself computer programming languages, developed a career that she loves, and never once failed to come to the aid of KaLynne or myself when we needed her. She is the strongest, most self-sufficient, independent woman I’ve had the pleasure of knowing. She is the backbone of our entire extended family, and the world (and I mean literally, the entire world) would be worse off without her.

KaLynne: There is no one in my life who brings out my silly, childish, and argumentative side quite like my little sister. When we moved to Washington last summer, she kept me sane, made me laugh, encouraged my foolishness, created our adventures, and helped me raid bookstores and game stores for hours on end. She brings balance to my life by being the more mature sister, the more fashionable sister, the funnier sister, and by far the better sister.

Taylor: Words cannot describe how much I love Taylor, the brother I met completely by accident. Never have I clicked so well with another human being that he became part of the fabric that makes up my soul. I have fought and argued with other people I love before; I have been both the giver and receiver of hateful words, and nothing ever destroyed me so much as the possibility of losing Taylor. He has become integral to my mental health and to my joy. I trust him more than anyone else, and based on the fact that we actually cannot spend more than 4 1/2 days at odds with each other proves to me that loving him is one of the best decisions I ever made.

I have many more people I am grateful for (Raquel, Erica, Brandi, Diane, Justin, Eric, Greg, Ty, Margaret, Cutter, Genevieve, Autumn . . . you get the picture), and if I had the time, I would write paragraphs and paragraphs about them. However, those emotions above are all the ones I can spare today, and I have a date with my mom (First Friday is, like, THE BEST).

Much love to all of you. Please take the time to thank the people you love and appreciate today. They probably need to hear it as much as you need to say it.

2 thoughts on “Show Your Gratitude

  1. Last year I started a gratitude journal in which I would write about 5 things I was grateful for each day. It definitely was a wonderful and happy way to end each day and a great way to be able to look back and cherish all the wonderful people in life.

    Like

Now that you've read my thoughts, what are yours?

