Behind the Photo

As you have probably noticed, I have a picture in my header. For those of you who haven’t taken much time to consider my header, let me describe it for you: a young woman in a black dress is walking down a worn path through a dense, sunlit forest. The colors are bold greens, yellows, and browns, rich with warmth.

From July 2013 to December 2013, I lived about a mile from Saltwater State Park in Des Moines, WA. My amazing, beautiful, absurdly hilarious sister KaLynne lived with me for about 15 minutes of those 5 months. As children of the airline industry, we love adventure (oh, the stories I can tell), and decided to adventure to Saltwater State Park.

On this adventure, we learned a few things. For example, beaches in Washington are made of rock, not sand.

Saltwater State Park

Most of this beach is privately owned, so instead of walking along the beach, KaLynne and I climbed out on the rocks in our flip flops and watched the tide come in.

As we were walking back to the car after a couple of hours soaking in the sun (I spent more time outside in WA than I ever have in AZ), something about the light hitting the trees just felt right. KaLynne walked ahead and in an instant, I saw my story come to life. I took a picture of the moment, knowing it was perfect.

That night, aided by ice cream and butterscotch Schnapps, I spent an hour editing the photo to get the hyper-saturated, paint-like photo above. My sister inadvertently became the icon of my brand. I wish I had the original version of the photo to show you, but it is on a cell phone that passed away in March.

It’s amazing how inspiration may strike and accidentally change everything. I have learned in the last two years that I need to keep people who inspire me around. My incredible little sister, Taylor and Raquel, and someone who inspired in entirely new facet of my book in the span of 15 minutes are just a few of the people around me worth investing in.

How does inspiration strike you? Who are the people you are determined to keep around because life would be just a little bit darker without them? Please let me know in the comments down below.

Last by not least, here’s a picture from high school of KaLynne and me on one of our many plane rides to Seattle. Twizzlers are the perfect travel food.

Cell Phone 926

KaLynne is the pretty one on the left. I’m the nerd eating Twizzlers. People ask us all the time who is older. It depends on the day, but general consensus is that KaLynne should definitely be the older sister.

P.S.: Vox Chaotica did a spotlight on me today, which you should totally read–and then you should go and read everything else on the blog.

Now that you've read my thoughts, what are yours?

